Home / /

The 8th e-Sports World Championship 2016 will be held in Jakarta, Indonesia

Opening ceremony of the 7th e-Sports WC

The opening ceremony of the 7th e-Sports World Championship Seoul 2015

The International e-Sports Federation (IeSF) will hold the 8th e-Sports World Championship 2016, which is the sole international e-sports event where players compete as representing their countries, in Jakarta, Indonesia in October, 2016.

IeSF have informed IeSF members and international sports events hosting company regarding the host city bidding opportunity for the 8th e-Sports World Championship 2016. Jakarta has showed great interest to become the host city of the event. IeSF selected Jakarta as the host city of the 8th e-Sports World Championship 2016 through the Board Meeting.

Jakarta, located in JAVA Island of Indonesia, is the capital city of the Republic of Indonesia with a population over 10 million people. Moreover, e-sports has been selected as the sports event of the Extreme & Adventurous Sports in the 6th TAFISA World Sports for All Games which will be held in Jakarta in October, 2016.

The 8th e-Sports World Championship will be held in Ancol Beach City Auditorium for 3 days. The official titles will be announced by IeSF technical committee soon.

After the announcement of the official titles, IeSF 43 member national federations will commence their national qualifiers. Players who are selected through national qualifiers will be formally recognized as sports athletes representing each country at the World Championship with endorsement of their government or national sports authority.

Meanwhile, e-Sports World Championship is the sole international e-sports event that is hosted by IeSF, established in 2008, and sponsored by Ministry of Culture, Sport and Tourism. Over 27 countries and 200 people who are recognized as national qualifiers by each government and national sports authority have participated in the 7th e-Sports World Championship Seoul 2015, which was held in Seoul, Korea, and Serbia ranked first place and Korea ranked second place of it in overall ranking.

The champion of the 7th e-Sports WC

The champion, Serbia, of the 7th e-Sports World Championship Seoul 2015

▶ About IeSF

The International e-Sports Federation (IeSF) is an International Governing Body for e-Sports, established in 2008. Currently IeSF consists of 43 National Federations, who are approved by governments in their countries. As e-Sports has been regarding as one of potential Sport disciplines, many of National Sport Authorities such as Ministry of Sport and National Olympic Committees have been recognize such National e-Sports Federations, as official Sport Governing Body.

Since 2009, IeSF has been hosting e-Sports World Championship every year. More than 400 people from all of IeSF National Federations and more countries participate in the event, as National Athletes approved by their government. All broadcasting contents are delivered to all around the world through online streaming platforms, with more than 2 million viewerships.

IeSF also cooperates with various International Sport Bodies. IeSF manages and operates e-Sports event in Multi Sports Events in the world. Also IeSF has been approved as one of the official signatories of World Anti-Doping Agency in 2013. After approval, IeSF has been conducted doping test for every event, like other sports with IeSF’s own Anti-Doping code. In 2014, IeSF was approved as an International member of TAFISA (The association For International Sport for All), and will manage e-Sports program in 2016 TAFISA World Sport for All Games.

With rapid growth of e-Sports, IeSF is aiming for being affiliated in SportAccord. Regarding perceptions toward e-Sports from National Sport Authorities, it is expected that e-Sports can be admitted as one of official sport discipline in near future, with the recognition of IeSF by SportAccord.


About DevilHunter

Check Also

Press release : Global Esports Executive Summit 2018 Registration Opens

◆ Summit to Gather Esports Stakeholders to Reach Common Understanding International Esports Federation (IESF) here …